2019 Jaguar E-Pace review – Has the Volvo XC40 been beaten? | What Car?


[Music] You know, there was a time not so long ago that Jaguar just didn’t make SUVs. It was quite content with making executive saloons and sports cars, and it did both very well. But with the market shift towards family-friendly SUVs showing no sign of stopping, Jaguar made its first SUV the F-Pace a rival to the plush Audi Q5 and BMW X3. But what if you want something smaller? Welcome the E-Pace. This is Jaguar’s second SUV model and it’s pitched into the same arena as the Audi Q3, BMW X1, and Volvo XC40. Tough competition then by any measure; so despite being Jaguars cub, can the E-Pace succeed against the family rivals? In this review we’ll tell you what it’s like to drive, how easy it is to live with, how much stuff you can get in it, and which version we ultimately think is best. Remember if you’re thinking about buying one at the end of this review, head to WhatCar.com and go to our New Car Buying section where we can potentially save you thousands! First though let’s take the E-Pace for a drive. Despite its sporty styling and almost looking like an SUV version of the firm’s F-Type sports car, it’s actually quite a heavy car. In fact it’s 85KG heavier than the larger F-Pace, it’s no surprise then that the 2-litre diesel 178 brake horsepower engine doesn’t feel particularly fast. Although the power is adequate, especially when driving around town. There’s a lesser powered 148 brake horsepower engine, which does feel a little gutless and then there’s the punchier 237 brake horsepower, although be warned is more expensive and less fuel efficient. If petrol is more your bag there are three to choose from one has 197 brake horsepower, the next has 247 brake horsepower, and the biggest one has 298 brake horsepower, which is impressively fast but in real world fuel economy you won’t get much better than 25mpg. None of the diesels are particularly refined, although our recommended 2 litre 178 brake horsepower is the quietest. Unsurprisingly, the petrols are all smoother and quieter. Even if you decide to go for larger wheels the E-Pace never feels horrendously firm and only crashes over the worst potholes, but you will be jostled about a bit on beaten up urban routes and that feeling doesn’t fully disappear on faster roads. You can get adaptive dampers on the E-Pace which generally help, in any case though it’s not as comfortable as the best versions of Volvo’s XC40. Jaguar can normally be relied upon for engaging handling and the E-Pace mostly offers that, we say mostly because the BMW X1 and Audi Q3 is a little more eager to turn in. Most E-Pace’s come with four-wheel drive which provides extra traction but you only really notice that in fast corners and bad weather. When driving around town the E-Pace’s steering feels heavy when compared to its rivals. Inside the E-Pace, the influence of the F-Type sports car is clear including this grab handle here. I wonder how people will be driving their E-Pace? In terms of the controls, they’re logically laid out, and there’s easy access to the climate control settings. You sit quite high up which means you get a great commanding view of the road, and as with many of its key rivals, the sloping back does mean that the view out of the rear is not quite so good. However, you get front and rear parking sensors as standard and a reversing camera if you really would like some help with parking. Now while the E-Pace looks suitably posh inside, it doesn’t hold up especially well when you look closer and there are some questionable plastics used for the switches and lower edges. Both the BMW X1 and Volvo XC40 ultimately feel classier. No matter which version of the E-Pace you go for, you get this 10-inch touchscreen. It’s relatively easy to use and get your head around, although some of the icons are a little bit fiddly and difficult to hit when on the move. You get everything that you’d expect, so that’s Bluetooth connectivity, 2 USB inputs, DAB radio, but if you’d like sat-nav you need to upgrade to the S model, and if you would like a punchy a sound system then you need to upgrade to SE. Unfortunately you can’t spec Android Auto or Apple CarPlay, not even as an option. Overall BMWs iDrive system is slicker and better. From here in front of the E-Pace you certainly get enough width so that you’re not rubbing shoulders with the person next to you, and you’d have to be really tall for the panoramic sunroof to have an impact on your headroom. In terms of storage, the door bins are a little slender but there are plenty of other storage places, for example there’s two cupholders here, and there’s some more stowage here, and the glove box is so big that I’ve managed to put my handbag in there! Slide into these rear seats, and you’ll find that even six footers will not be complaining about legroom, even if they are sitting behind a 6-footer, which clearly I am not today. Although, what we would say is Volkswagen, Volvo, and BMW both offer a little bit more legroom. When it comes to headroom, that’s about the same, and if you are intending on sitting three abreast back here, it’s got to be the smallest person in this middle seat because even I feel slightly close to the roof. Official figures would have you believe that you can fit more in the boot of the E-Pace than you can in a BMW X1, but actually the reverse is true. Although the boot is far from pokey, and it has no load lip which means getting things in and out is very very easy, plus you can fold down the rear seats so any impromptu trips to a Swedish furniture store and you can create even more space. Although there is still more room in a BMW X1 and a Volkswagen Tiguan. The Jaguar E-Pace costs a lot more to buy than its key rivals, however it is predicted to hold on to its value better. So effectively, it costs you less in the long run and lowers the monthly payments. Although an equivalent Volvo XC40 is still quite a bit cheaper, and watch out company car drivers because the relatively high CO2 emissions does mean that it will cost you more again. In most cases we recommend the 178 brake horsepower 2-litre diesel. As for which trim level to choose, you first need to decide whether you like the look of the standard car or if you prefer the styling of the R-Dynamic model, and once you’ve made that decision you can then choose what equipment you would like. As standard the E-Pace comes with dual zone climate control, cruise control, and LED headlights, as well as safety kit including Automatic Emergency Braking, lane keeping assistance, and a driver tiredness monitor. Unsurprisingly the car has a five-star rating from EuroNCAP. We’d recommend spending a bit more on an S model, which adds a more sophisticated infotainment system with sat-nav and leather seats, SE and HSE trims get larger wheels and more safety kit but are also too expensive for us to recommend. The E-Pace is great to look at, well-equipped, and will hold on to its value well, while many of its key rivals are ultimately better to drive and plusher inside. For plenty more on the E-Pace including our full online review, head to WhatCar.com and remember if you’re thinking about buying one or any of its key rivals, head to our New Car Buying section where we can help save you thousands, but before you go anywhere never miss another video hit subscribe! [Music]

78 Comments

  1. manish tanwar September 13, 2018 at 2:01 pm

    I give first like.

  2. manish tanwar September 13, 2018 at 2:02 pm

    Jaguar and me both are Indian

  3. HARDIK GOKHRU September 13, 2018 at 2:03 pm

    Superb car is jaguar… 👍👍

  4. HARDIK GOKHRU September 13, 2018 at 2:05 pm

    I am giving 4th like to jaguar 👍👍

  5. Tiberianexcalibur September 13, 2018 at 2:19 pm

    Front interior dash looks dated and not very well thought out of. The 2019 Toyota camry has a better dash than that.

  6. laid nassira September 13, 2018 at 2:59 pm

    Rebecca bettre

  7. Robert l September 13, 2018 at 3:16 pm

    Great honest review as usual thanks

  8. Craig Dalgarno September 13, 2018 at 3:21 pm

    Rebecca love 😍

  9. 1seipai September 13, 2018 at 3:39 pm

    What a hideous apparition and I I do mean the car. Pointless.

  10. maxmavrick7 September 13, 2018 at 3:47 pm

    😍

  11. minnie saab September 13, 2018 at 4:16 pm

    ❤🚘❤🚘❤🚘❤🚘❤🚘❤

  12. ಕನ್ನಡ ಮೊದಲು KannadaFirst September 13, 2018 at 4:21 pm

    Jaguar team thinks people would pay anything for the logo 😅…

  13. Eddie M September 13, 2018 at 4:25 pm

    I don't think Rebecca likes this car, never seen her so lackadaisical in a review

  14. Christopher Martin September 13, 2018 at 4:33 pm

    At last: a family car with a decent sized glovebox. Trouble is, that seems to be the only good point

  15. kripstoe September 13, 2018 at 4:43 pm

    Fit and finish not great. Steering column plastic surround at 1:28

  16. Miudo de souza September 13, 2018 at 4:44 pm

    Vc e Linda

  17. Jamie Pickles September 13, 2018 at 4:56 pm

    Great Video Review

  18. tyrael280 September 13, 2018 at 5:09 pm

    This car is booooring like most SUVs. Congrats to Rebecca for getting the review job done

  19. Realist 1801 September 13, 2018 at 5:09 pm

    Yes if you like living at the garage

  20. Christoff87 September 13, 2018 at 5:20 pm

    Show me a diesel that's actually refined and I'll eat my own arse. Horrid fuel.

  21. Manele Nation September 13, 2018 at 5:27 pm

    Boot reviews are so dissapointing lattely…if you know what i mean..

  22. Know The New September 13, 2018 at 5:53 pm

    Which brand do you use Rebecca dear?

  23. Darkbyte2005 September 13, 2018 at 6:29 pm

    fantastic video…. lovely

  24. JR S September 13, 2018 at 6:32 pm

    Looking and sounding as beautiful as always. Oh, yes the vehicle is also nice.

  25. rabit818 September 13, 2018 at 6:34 pm

    Nice looks but no Apple or Android, no felt lining on door pockets, Definitely for jag brand whores. If you must, keep for four years then toss it before problems sets in.

  26. t s September 13, 2018 at 7:32 pm

    Not a proper jaguar made in Austria.

  27. Jamie P September 13, 2018 at 7:37 pm

    No wonder its heavy being based on aging Evoque. Must try harder….

  28. KolyaNick September 13, 2018 at 8:12 pm

    I haven't driven either but had a look inside an xc40 and the jag side by side in Germany the other day – they turn public areas into open air show rooms!. The jag is much better laid out and more spacious inside imho

  29. MBADaruma Genki September 13, 2018 at 9:17 pm

    Rebecca, you're hot!

  30. hutchcraftcp September 13, 2018 at 10:28 pm

    must have been a fail for Jaguar. Rebecca didn't have her large 1.5L water bottle, her banana and the steering wasn't good enough to have her to say parking was a doddle .

  31. Johnny Cage September 14, 2018 at 4:05 am

    Rebecca gave her best to make the car look somewhat half decent.

  32. Bay Brlgsc September 14, 2018 at 8:12 am

    Ok ok , I admit you are so beautiful

  33. interceptor1986 September 14, 2018 at 9:21 am

    I hate suvs they all look exactly the same

  34. MARTIN A1 September 14, 2018 at 10:06 am

    Thank goodness you have lost your rail announcement voice.

  35. nabill arif September 14, 2018 at 11:16 am

    2:31…did u see that horrible gap in the steering column plastic…even korean cars dont have that…

  36. faisalleeds September 14, 2018 at 2:35 pm

    You can tell this car was rushed to fill a gap in the market. Very old chassis, heavier than the competition and already outdated tech. Doesn't look bad but Jag definitely need to aim more upmarket. Even Volvo have overtaken them now.

  37. Eric George September 14, 2018 at 3:18 pm

    As a big Jag fan I'd have one.

  38. Martin K.O September 14, 2018 at 3:48 pm

    Its sad. the car is average at almost every point but the price is still about the same as BMW, Mercedes, Audi and Volvo

  39. Ed Baumann September 14, 2018 at 4:09 pm

    I drove the E-Pace and the XC40 back-to-back and the Volvo was the clear winner. The E-Pace is a nice vehicle, but that's all. There's a lot to like about it but the XC40 is just better with regards to ride, comfort, ergonomics, fit & finish, infotainment and price. We have had our XC40 for a few months now and are happy with our choice.

  40. Jen Hadar September 14, 2018 at 7:27 pm

    Sorry the Volvo is ugly. I would go for the Jaguar to compliment my XF

  41. Stig qwe September 14, 2018 at 7:31 pm

    I’m sure the e-pace is a good car, but compared to the Volvo xc40 it’s a letdown.

  42. Jez September 14, 2018 at 7:39 pm

    Great review. I work for JLR and this car is a nightmare on every single front. Utter crap

  43. Levent Taskan September 14, 2018 at 8:25 pm

    To answer the titular question, no. You can't make a car that is heavier than it's bigger brother and expect it to lead the segment.

  44. Ryan Angkasa September 15, 2018 at 2:04 pm

    Plz review the new Hyundai SantaFe

  45. bonzobanana1 September 15, 2018 at 2:36 pm

    I can see why they added it to the range but I'd rather have the F Pace or wait for a fully developed E Pace perhaps the next generation.

  46. g00dfeeling September 15, 2018 at 3:59 pm

    She is soooo boooriiiing!!!

  47. T H September 15, 2018 at 9:14 pm

    Chunky

  48. Chris S September 16, 2018 at 8:30 am

    Volvo is better!

  49. mariano olsen September 16, 2018 at 10:08 am

    Her accent 😍

  50. Helmet September 16, 2018 at 3:26 pm

    Oh boi oh boi, to hell with these cars!

  51. Ekomino September 17, 2018 at 2:13 pm

    annoying background music all the time, I want to hear the vocals

  52. Hooded Claw September 17, 2018 at 6:59 pm

    Don’t buy jaguars, it only encourages them to build more.

  53. Anluxe M September 20, 2018 at 9:29 am

    Negative comments are typical of those cannot afford a Jaguar… this video is the closest you’ll get

  54. Adi B September 20, 2018 at 10:21 pm

    Who would get a volvo if you can afford a jaguar.

  55. Alfonso Marquez September 21, 2018 at 10:08 pm

    I miss the rapid pace speech Rebecca… I feel like she now takes a long time to start her videos…

  56. what September 22, 2018 at 8:22 am

    The interior just seems a bit boring and outdated

  57. Jude Williamson September 22, 2018 at 12:11 pm

    Vast back city contact particle match bold bad elderly must.

  58. Essex Anders September 29, 2018 at 6:15 am

    The thing is these are different cars (imo) the x1 and xc40 etc are just jacked up glorified estate cars. Xc40 is just plain ugly. The nearest real rival to this based on styling is the Q3 (jacked up hatchback look).

  59. Benzinio October 12, 2018 at 10:16 pm

    E-Pace may not be the best, but it is probably the prettiest!.. but SUV is definitely not my cup of tea!!

  60. Джон Голд October 19, 2018 at 4:46 am

    Автомобили ягуар и ленд ровер полный шлак, возвращаю ягуар, автомобиль сломан и починить никто не может. Зачем разрабатывать очередное говно, просто научитесь делать автомобили. С таким качеством авто концерну осталось не долго!

  61. Bobby Jay October 19, 2018 at 11:48 pm

    Looks like a Nissan Juke.

    UGLY!

  62. Darren Maybee October 24, 2018 at 1:29 am

    gran rail works 👍

  63. Oleksander Zhytenko November 3, 2018 at 1:08 am

    Why potential customers should buy this expensive car?

  64. Mark D November 12, 2018 at 7:02 pm

    What a piece of shit

  65. peer November 13, 2018 at 8:24 pm

    Nope!

  66. wake up and smell the coffee today November 16, 2018 at 5:43 pm

    How come it is heavier than the F pace? What kind of engineering is that.

  67. TheAfricanPrince December 2, 2018 at 9:58 pm

    If I land a learn and land a kick flip my dad said he would buy this car

  68. Bruce Burns February 20, 2019 at 4:03 am

    Shame they made it out of steel to get it onto the market quicker and shame about those Suzuki Swift headlights not looking like the I Pace a beautiful aluminum design .

  69. Lewis72 February 23, 2019 at 3:20 am

    V12 Series 3 Daimler Double-Six please.

  70. Nat B March 6, 2019 at 3:42 pm

    Fantastic car! Had mine delivered on Friday and all these reviews are misleading. Fantastic ride and it commands attention. Love it!!

  71. Lisa Black Cat July 18, 2019 at 4:13 am

    nice honest review – great to hear actual opinions than a read out of manufacturers' data and configurations.

  72. Moon Lightbiker August 27, 2019 at 1:01 pm

    And I won't be buying this car after Rebecca's honest review. Thanks Rebecca!

  73. Cindy Shipman November 6, 2019 at 1:53 am

    Hi

  74. Royston Fernandes November 22, 2019 at 12:33 am

    Beautiful car, beautiful driver 😜

  75. ebin belji November 29, 2019 at 5:36 am

    She had a nice voice

  76. oopscanada November 29, 2019 at 5:42 pm

    Wow Rebecca, she is always the best! I really love her reviews.

  77. Hyunoo Nam December 1, 2019 at 11:15 pm

    Made in china

  78. John Hooker December 26, 2019 at 9:00 pm

    Our Rebecca must be very petite. It’s a car I wanted to like, but there’s precious little space in it in comparison to an F-Pace. Definitely one for the slim and agile amongst us.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *