New Watercolor Pan Sets from Prima & Coloring Book Review


– [Voiceover] Hi
everyone, Kristina here. Welcome to another video
at my YouTube channel. Today, I’m going to be sharing
with you some new products from Prima. These are all brand-new
watercolor products, and they were sent to
me by Prima for review. As usual, I’m going
to be sharing with you my honest opinions, whether
they were sent to me for review or if I personally
purchased them. I always want to make
sure that I give you guys my first impression of products
and make sure you know that everything I say would
be the same whether I bought them myself or if
a company sends them to me. So the first thing I’m
going to go over are these half pan sets. Prima calls these
Watercolor Confections, which is super cute
because as you can see, when you open up the tin,
all of the watercolors are double wrapped inside
like little candies. I thought that was really cute. That’s kind of a fun way
to have your watercolors. A lot of other companies
package their pan sets like this as well. I know, for example,
Schmincke, I have a set of Schmincke watercolors
and they were packaged exactly the same. In fact, the tin that these
watercolor confections come in is very similar to the
Schmincke palette that I had, which is a really nice palette. So I was familiar with that. As you take each pan out,
a way that you can do that a little bit more easily
is to bend the little tabs up at the very top. You can bend them back
and then take out the pan and then go through and
bend it back into place after you’ve put the pan in,
and that allows you to get them in and out really easily. Each color has a
number on the back. I had really hoped that
there would be names just so it would be a little
bit easier to differentiate between colors between the
palettes, but the numbers work just as efficiently. And if you wanted to, you
could take a Sharpie marker or any other permanent marker
and put the number on the back of each color. I ended up not doing that. I considered it, but I
didn’t do that because later, I made sort of like a swatch
map, and I’ll walk you through that one
when we get there. Another reason why you
would want to keep track of the numbers of these pans
is because there are rumors, I have no idea if
this is true or not, but I’ve heard from
multiple sources that Prima will be releasing these pan
watercolors as individual pans. So if you wanted to replace
a color that you’ve used or maybe one fell out and
broke or something like that, for whatever reason, you could
replace individual colors within the set, which I
think is a really great idea because other watercolor
companies offer that as well. And on the same hand, you
could create sort of your own, like customized personal
set of your favorite colors to use all the time. The watercolors do shift around
a little bit inside the tin. If you have your colors
in the exact order where you want them, you
could put a little bit of glue underneath each pan
and set that in place so they won’t move
around at all. I’m keeping mine loose
just in case I want to replace them later
or things like that. The tin itself has two
kind of leaf panels, the top and then this other
one, and they have different sizes of wells in each one. So it’s great for mixing
colors, or you could use the bigger wells if you’re
going to do a larger wash of color. You could use both
sides like that. I would just make sure
that both of those are dry before I close up the
set and store away, just so it keeps all of the
colors inside nice and dry and gives them a chance
to dry out before storage. Prima has also released
three new water brushes, and these are sort of
like flat tip brushes. One is very narrow,
and then the other is a little bit larger than that. And the last one is even larger. So there’s a small, medium
and large brush tip for these. These are really great
for larger washes or just larger areas. Prima has a couple of other
water brushes they came out with a while back that I
actually really love. So I was excited to get these. I did want to mention that
when you’re putting the caps on these when they’re dry, it’s
a little bit more difficult. But for the most part, I
think you’ll only be putting the cap back on after use, so
these would be wet normally. But for now, I’m just
showing you how it is to put the caps on
when they’re dry. One of the other products
that everyone’s really curious about from Prima
is their new watercolor coloring book. This is particularly
exciting for those of us who love coloring
and coloring books and have attempted to
watercolor in them. Any coloring book that is not
specifically for watercolor can’t really handle all of
the water that you would use with watercolor pencils,
watercolor crayons or traditional watercolors. So it’s a little bit frustrating
or has been frustrating until now, when some companies
are coming out with these watercolor coloring books. So I was really
excited to try this out because one of the things
that’s really held me back from watercoloring in coloring
books is the fact that they weren’t on really
nice, thick paper. So this one is actually on
the Prima watercolor paper, and it’s cut to eight by 10. So I think their idea behind
this was that you could watercolor some of
these quotes or designs, and then since they’re
already eight by 10, you can put them into an eight
by 10 frame and put it up in your home as sort
of DIY home decor. So it’s kind of a fun idea. The other thing that’s
really interesting about this whole watercoloring
coloring book is that all of these quotes
have outlined letters. So the opportunity for
coloring in the letters and multiple color washes
or even just filling it in with one color is
really endless. There’s lots of different
things you can do with this watercolor coloring book. There are 24 different designs,
and they’re all one-sided so you don’t have to choose,
you know, between designs on either side of the page. You can do every single
design and not have to worry about it. These are gummed at the
very top so you can just tear them out and without
any damage to the paper. So now I’m going to go into
how I created my swatches for the watercolor pan sets. And my idea behind this was
that I wanted to be able to take a little panel of
watercolor paper and store it inside the tin with the
watercolor so that I always have those as a reference. Because as you know,
watercolors in the pan or even squeezed out from a
tube, the color doesn’t always look the same as when it’s
dried on watercolor paper. So I wanted to make sure
I had a good reference for what these
colors looked like. So I have cut out three
watercolor rectangles. This is out of Arches
cold pressed watercolor paper. I picked out watercolor paper
just because it’s what I had on hand. And I cut them to four and
1/4 wide by two and 1/4 tall and then I made horizontal
lines at one inch from the top and bottom. And then I divided it
into six equal sections across the length. So in order to keep
these watercolor sets
kind of organized even more, I took some
blue masking tape and I wrote on them what each set
was and then just placed that onto the top lid of each set. This just helps me know
which set is which. So I also labeled the
watercolor papers. This is the swatch maps. And now I’m going to go
to town coloring these in. So as I was unwrapping
the colors in each tin, I made sure to place
them back into the tin in the numerical order
determined on the numbers on the back of the pan sets. I did this because I wanted
to make sure that I had all the colors in the
right order, and so that when I did this little swatch
map, I’d be able to label them like one through
12 for the classics or 13 through 24 for
the tropicals and so on. And doing my swatches like
this will really help me in the future just in case I
do want to add some additional colors in or if I need to
replace them when Prima, hopefully, comes out with
the individual pan sets. So these different sets
of colors are actually really interesting. The classic set, which
is number one through 12 has your very traditional
kind of rainbow colors across the board,
which are really nice. And then you get into tropicals,
which I think would be more useful for like florals. And then the last
set is decadent pies,
and there’s a silver and a gold, and kind of
like a shimmery one as well. This set also has some really
great colors for skin tones or even like coloring
critters or things like that, more earth tones which
I really, really like. So what I wanted to
mention about these colors is that rewetting them
is really, really easy. Just a little bit of the
damp brush and you get quite a bit of color. It’s really nice. They do have a creamy
consistency, but then also just a slight, like very
slight chalkiness. It’s not such a chalky
feeling that it would deter me from using them, but I did
want to mention that I did have that. The pigmentation is a
really, really high on these. If there’s anything I would
love for them to improve on would be the transparency. With watercolor sets or
in watercolors in general, I always want to have a
really high transparency. And with some of these colors,
they’re more semi transparent or maybe even opaque and so in that way, I would say
that they’re more similar to a student grade
watercolor because of that. As far as price goes, each
one of these sets cost $25 retail, and that price is
actually really, really good for what you get. I did a little bit of
research and looked up some other watercolor sets,
particularly student or scholastic-grade
watercolor sets. And for example,
Grumbacher has a 12 pan set that’s around $25 to $30. The half pan set of Winsor
& Newton Cotman watercolors for 12 colors is $30 retail, and it’s kind of
across the board. If you want a more student
or scholastic-grade watercolor set, they’re around
$25 to $30 for 12 colors. That’s the price retail. Of course you could find
it on sale or use a coupon in a store, things like
that, but I think the pricing is just about right. If you were to go to
more of a professional or artist-grade watercolor
set, which is actually what I’m more used to nowadays
because I have been kind of almost collecting them, you’re
paying upwards of more like $85 to $150 just for 12 colors. So if you are just starting
out with watercoloring or you’re looking for a
really good beginner set of watercolors, the price
point on these is actually fairly good. I’d probably recommend this
set if you’re looking for these particular colors. A lot of the sets that I
recommend to my viewers quite a bit are all around
that same price point. Some, you can get a few
more colors or a few less, but they’re all about the same. So it really just
depends on what you want. The thing that I really
love about this set maybe over other sets is
that the tin that it comes in is particularly nice with
those different wells. And I like how small
and compact it is. I think that’s a
great positive or pro for these particular
watercolor sets. I wanted to try out
the watercolors doing some brush lettering,
so you just saw before, I was testing out all
the different colors and writing out the color means. And now I am brush lettering
a quote from Matisse. I just wanted to see how these
colors would kind of blend on a water brush, get a little better
feel for them. As you notice, the colors
don’t really blend too much, but I think that’s because
I wasn’t using a whole lot of water. The water to pigment ratio
on this was a whole lot more pigment than water, so
that’s why these are a little bit more thick. So now I’m going to go
into the coloring book and show you some of the
coloring in it and give you my opinion on the coloring book. So I’m going to go
through some pros and cons and I have to write these down
because I wanted to make sure that I covered everything. So pros. The biggest pro for me
is that it’s actually on watercolor paper. It can handle a lot more water
than other coloring books. I think that’s a really good pro for the coloring book itself. I also like that it’s
eight by 10 size. It’s nice and big but
it’s not overly large like some of the artist’s
water coloring books that I’ve used in the past. Those books weren’t
watercolor specific, but the format was much
larger than eight by 10 and it was a little
bit cumbersome to use, especially if I was going
to be traveling with it or kind of just
coloring on the go. So the eight by 10 size is
something that I really, really like. The designs inside are nice. There’s a good variety of
kind of florals and type and just nice quotes to
work with, things like that. I did want to mention when
it comes to the typography on this that I found a lot of
the letters to be very small. And when I painted them,
I painted three or four of these sheets, not finished
but just to test them out, it was really hard to get
a nice crisp clean edge on all of those words. They’re particularly small
and kind of hard to paint. So I think what I’m
going to do in the future and I would recommend this
to you guys if you find that to be the case for you as
well, is I’m going to just take a black, really
thin-lined marker and fill in those words
so it kind of makes that black outline disappear. It looks like it’s
printed or maybe I’ve done the brush lettering
in black on top. And it’s a really
great way to work with the different typography
that’s on these quotes. So I’ll probably be
doing that in the future. And particularly, I’ll be
using black waterproof marker or pen to do that so that
I can do watercolor washes over the top. As far as cons of
the coloring book go, it’s funny to say this again
because it was on my pro but the paper on
the coloring book. It’s on my pro and
con list because it’s actually not my favorite. I’m not a big fan of the
Prima watercolor paper. I think that really stems
from the fact that I’ve used other types of watercolor
paper more than Prima, so I’m very used to how my
watercolor pigments behave on those particular types
of watercolor paper. So it’s really just kind
of like one of those your mileage may
vary-type situations, where if you’re used to using
other high-quality papers, you might be a
little bit frustrated with the watercolor paper
in the Prima coloring book, but that’s really like… I don’t think that should
really deter you away from getting the coloring
book because the designs are really nice. I particularly love this
floral one right here and of all the pages that I
watercolored, this is the one that I’m going to finish
and probably put it in my craft (mumbles)
or something like that because I really like how
it’s starting to take form. So the paper was a little
bit of a pro and con for me. I also wanted to mention
that some of the designs can be really small. That’s one of my
major complaints with
other coloring books is that the designs don’t
have enough open space for you to really kind of
get some blended color. So this design in particular
had some more medium-type size things, which was great
for getting those colors on the flowers
and on the leaves. But some of the other designs
have really, really small elements, which could
be difficult to do with a watercolor set. I also wanted to mention
when it comes to the paper, one of the reasons why I didn’t
like the paper was because the drying time is
really, really fast. So I didn’t feel like
it was forgiving. I wasn’t able to put down
a wash of color and drop in more colors. I was really limited
in that case. So that is my review of
all of the Prima products that they sent me. All in all, I would
recommend the watercolor set. If I was to give you a
recommendation on which set to buy first, I might
say get the classics because you can mix a lot of
those colors to be similar to the colors on the other sets. But if you like florals,
maybe you’ll like the tropicals more. Or if you really like to paint
people or kind of animals, you might go for that
decadent pie set. It’s really up to you. The coloring book, even
though I don’t like the paper, I’d still recommend it just
because the designs are fun and it’s kind of hard to
find a watercolor-specific coloring book out
there right now. So this is a fun way to
kind of test things out. I did try out a couple
of different watercolors in the coloring book. Specifically, I tried my
Winsor & Newton watercolors. I tried Zig Clean Color
Real Brush Markers. I tried some Tombow’s. All of them had about
the same experience with the watercolor
paper in that it was drying very quickly and
it was a little bit hard to blend color. So I think it’s
across the board. It’s like that, it’s
just the type of paper. But like I said before, please
don’t let that deter you from buying it because I think
the designs are really great. So thanks for watching. I will catch you guys
in the next video. Until then, happy crafting
and thanks for watching. (uplifting music)

100 Comments

  1. Lewis Dixon March 27, 2016 at 11:18 pm

    The Windsor and Newton 12 pan set is a lot cheaper because I have the 16 pan set what comes with 3 tubes and they were ยฃ20 brand new and I have seen the 12 pan set before for like ยฃ15 brand new slots of times

  2. devils 123 April 8, 2016 at 6:13 am

    would you recomend this fir beginner

  3. Joanne Tiffany April 10, 2016 at 6:21 pm

    the frugal crafter on youtube has a video to show how to stop them moving around

  4. Sophia Liss April 11, 2016 at 12:21 am

    Hi Kristina! I was wondering where you got your ruler you used for the swatch maps?

  5. Yvette Williams April 12, 2016 at 11:02 pm

    Do they carry the products in Michaels and Hobby Lobby?

  6. Susan Ellis April 15, 2016 at 4:01 pm

    Thanks for reviewing. I did not know of this company.

  7. *Tracy Born Again Farm Girl April 17, 2016 at 1:32 am

    I bought all three sets , I'm just that way ๐Ÿ˜Š.

  8. Ami Shakeera April 21, 2016 at 4:23 am

    Wow it is so cool

  9. Ami Shakeera April 21, 2016 at 4:25 am

    Where u buy it

  10. Ami Shakeera April 21, 2016 at 4:26 am

    # colouring books ok

  11. Elizabeth Metz April 25, 2016 at 3:28 pm

    I totally bought these a while ago for the tin, since watercolor tins are surprisingly expensive, and ended up liking the watercolors, too. (I'm a Daniel Smith girl, but occasionally cheat on him with other brands. :D)

    Quick note about the shifting: If you bend in the metal bits before you put the pans in, you can get a much tighter seal. Just put the front edge in first (against the side with the fixed metal edge instead of the bendable one), then click it down on the other side (bendable side), the rolled bendable metal tab will stay tight against the pan. If you try to put the pan in and then bend the tab, you can't get enough space to bend it well enough, and things shift all over the place. Hope that helps some!

  12. Debbie Swanson April 26, 2016 at 4:25 pm

    I really appreciate your unbiased reviews. I can trust & be confident in purchasing my supplies…which btw you have influenced ๐Ÿ™‚ Blessings Deb

  13. Flutterbree April 28, 2016 at 1:24 am

    You could try leaving the type white and coloring in the negative space with a darker color so the lines won't be glaringly obvious? Probably a tricky thing to pull off, but I imagine it to be really beautiful with the right colors

  14. Linats May 11, 2016 at 1:02 am

    I LOVE YOU HANDWRITING

  15. ThePerfectLeatherBag May 12, 2016 at 9:34 pm

    This was a very detailed, thorough review. well done!

  16. Anita Holmes May 13, 2016 at 9:20 pm

    There are a few videos out there showing how to close the tabs to stop them from moving, and still be able to take them out.ย  Great tips. TFS

  17. Shannanigans Gogerychwyrndrobwlll May 21, 2016 at 6:49 pm

    You could put some blue tack or picture mounting tack to keep them in place without permanently damaging the tin or pans.

  18. Sugar Flower May 27, 2016 at 2:35 pm

    prima is probs watching this and going, "GET THOSE INDIVIDUAL COLORS ON A PRODUCTION LINE AND IN STORES NOW!"

  19. Phyllis Stuart May 29, 2016 at 6:25 pm

    Beautiful painting

  20. Shannanigans Gogerychwyrndrobwlll June 3, 2016 at 4:01 am

    I really enjoyed the video and was just wondering if you knew what stores that these are sold in. Thank you!

  21. Tamara T June 9, 2016 at 5:51 pm

    I WANT THEM!!!!!

  22. PixiePrincess501 June 10, 2016 at 1:07 am

    Knowing (and observing) how creamy these are sealed the deal for me! I also love the color themes these sets show. This was among the recommendations in my Amazon queue, but I didn't really buy them just yet, waiting for a good review. I always have my sketchbook with me, and carry a couple of watercolor pans and waterbrushes just for this!

  23. Jan Weedon June 16, 2016 at 6:27 am

    gray is a proper name … grey is the colour !

  24. Nicola Davies June 16, 2016 at 1:23 pm

    Gorgeous colours โœ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŽจ

  25. Hailing Hackney July 10, 2016 at 8:01 am

    Hi. What brush are you using to do the writing? X

  26. Carly Valquez July 10, 2016 at 8:51 am

    hey I barely started painting and using watercolor. what are good affordable watercolor paper and paints.

  27. Sharon French July 16, 2016 at 9:47 pm

    Beautiful colors and you do them justice. Too many things on my "I want" list. I'll have to wait.

  28. asianamgirlinterests July 17, 2016 at 3:28 pm

    If only buying nice paints will make me an artist like you. I love this style of writing.

  29. Phantom Paper July 22, 2016 at 8:42 am

    I loved watching you color! It was so relaxing and satisfying!

    I have a small conundrum that I was hoping you could give your opinion on. I'm not sure if you've tried the W&N Cotman Sketchers Pocket Box. If you did, which of the two would you recommend is worth buying, Cotman or Prima Marketing?

    If Prima, which of their sets should I get first?

  30. Ong Xue Min July 23, 2016 at 3:37 am

    just a question, why do you always use waterbrushes in your videos instead of traditional brushes like other artists on youtube do?

  31. gothicfury August 3, 2016 at 5:33 am

    those are beautiful colors <3

  32. Amy Huang August 7, 2016 at 5:05 pm

    Will the paint cakes fall out of the pan? Love this helpful video!

  33. voxmonkeylove August 15, 2016 at 1:32 pm

    thoroughly enjoyed watcing you paint those flowers lol

  34. PeriwinkleFilms August 17, 2016 at 6:32 am

    Which brushes are you using (for the swatches and for the flowers)? What brand of paintbrush do you recommend?

  35. Merle macht Miauu September 3, 2016 at 9:38 am

    Nice video!
    Does anyone know if there is a alternative to the book from Germany?

  36. Cynthia Rosiek September 5, 2016 at 10:09 am

    I am so very envious of your beautiful lettering. Beautiful!

  37. Momo Chan September 12, 2016 at 12:59 am

    Can you tell me where I can buy those prima watercolor pan set and the waterbrush? Is it available online? How much does it cost? thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  38. Chinxize4 September 13, 2016 at 9:09 pm

    i'm always getting so greedy and jealous watching videos with or about lots of materials and supplies… >.< I can't afford it…

  39. Yvette Williams September 16, 2016 at 2:31 am

    What's ur fav watercolors?

  40. vicki September 16, 2016 at 3:01 am

    your thumbnails are goals

  41. sweetvioletstar September 21, 2016 at 12:11 pm

    Hello! Just finished watching your review.I love how you are so organized with your watercolors,and that's one of the reasons why Im suscribing to your channel!:)

  42. Mina0o0o0 October 9, 2016 at 12:36 am

    These are between $15 and 20 in Amazon!

  43. WrinkleinTime42 October 12, 2016 at 2:00 am

    I need this book and colours!!! Ah!!

  44. RevoTUBE October 12, 2016 at 10:45 pm

    You can bend down the big metal part in the watercolor palette, and then pop your pans in to keep them in place. Just bend the long part towards the middle and then put your pans in and push them until the pop into place. That will stop them from sliding around.

  45. Lori Anne October 16, 2016 at 9:29 pm

    Beautiful work. I've been considering trying out water coloring and your video really inspired me. I have been using different types of media in my coloring books – gel pens, Prisma pencils and markers, and enjoy doing that very much but now I'm at the point where I want to be creative and try out the water coloring. I am going to try out the tropical colors in this set. I wanted to thank you for taking the time to create and share your video. I will let you know the outcome of my experience. I have a lot of down time because I am home bound for the most part as I have multiple sclerosis and that it's very important for me to use my motor and cognitive skills. Thank you for the inspiration!!

  46. Gilded Press Studio October 17, 2016 at 4:26 am

    What brush were you using in the coloring book?

  47. Ella Greenwood October 23, 2016 at 2:56 pm

    They might be more pigmented so they last longer so u might just need to add more water

  48. Andrea Joian October 31, 2016 at 12:41 pm

    What?? This is how you normally handwrite? I need 5 hours to write the first word… wow. Just wow.

  49. Lolly Palooza November 8, 2016 at 1:48 pm

    Excellent review.

  50. Julia Grace November 24, 2016 at 9:20 pm

    These are so beautiful! Wish they came in bigger sets

  51. Kathleen Gustafson December 1, 2016 at 3:22 pm

    You have beautiful your handwriting/lettering is. I am now planning to give little sets like this for gifts.

  52. Rachel Yao December 28, 2016 at 10:30 pm

    I currently have the decadent pies set, but I want to fit some more colors in the space between the pans. Do you think know if different brands have different sized half-pans?

  53. Ania Soprano January 17, 2017 at 9:21 am

    Winsor & Newton 12 colors is 10 dollars. and i love those ๐Ÿ™‚

  54. Sandra !! January 19, 2017 at 8:09 pm

    Honestly I would I suggest the Koi Sketch Box watercolors over these any day. Their is a 24 color set for around the same price as these and the quality is fantastic

  55. Dennis Turnage January 30, 2017 at 2:40 pm

    small dots of velcro will hold the pans in

  56. Asen Asuzagawa January 31, 2017 at 12:44 am

    When you don't have the money to even afford this ๐Ÿ˜ญ

  57. DEBS CRAFTING ROOM February 3, 2017 at 6:20 pm

    Found these paints at Amazon last night, would like to try these !

  58. Sharon Gullikson February 6, 2017 at 4:41 pm

    Thank you so much for this video. I learned so much, and not just about Prima products. I just bought a different company's watercolors (they haven't arrived yet), and have no idea how to watercolor. So this gave me some tips. I LOVE how you colored the flowers. Mine will never, ever look that good, but I will try, and will try to be happy with the results. I'm going to see if you have other watercolor videos so I can learn more. Thanks again.

  59. Lizzy Austi February 7, 2017 at 4:34 am

    Absolutely stunning lettering! Gorgeous!

  60. Jess jta designs February 9, 2017 at 12:24 am

    Would you think this set with the gold color would be opaque enough to hand letter with, as in your other Xmas videos I've seen? I can't get all sets mentioned but need one set that I could letter over dark backgrounds, thanks so much I learn so much from you, and adore your work. Bless you!๐Ÿ–Œ

  61. Yvette Williams February 24, 2017 at 10:09 am

    What brush r u using in this video?

  62. Yvette Williams February 24, 2017 at 10:10 am

    Have u used the Painterly Days Books?

  63. Chanel Gonzales February 26, 2017 at 4:58 am

    WOW!!!!

  64. jasmin Perez February 26, 2017 at 10:16 pm

    You can buy these in stores right? Because I'm still to young to be buying things online.

  65. Yvette Williams February 27, 2017 at 5:31 pm

    I love these sets because I tend to love opaque and vibrant colors. I have two sets of these and some Winsor ones too.

  66. Yvette Williams February 27, 2017 at 5:33 pm

    U r soooooo talented! Do I have a fav water-brush? I have the one ur using and it's just ok to me.

  67. toratsubasa91 February 27, 2017 at 6:26 pm

    When I saw the Watercolor Confections brand on Amazon, I sincerely thought they were chocolates oTL

  68. Cera Ve March 5, 2017 at 3:18 pm

    another bonus that comes with this palette is that you can add up to 21 pans in the tin. the original 12 are very loose after taking it out of the plastics. you can put one extra pan on the top and the bottom, if you own pans that are the same as the winsor and newton half pans, you can put them into middle making a super small compact set. ^^

  69. heidi chen March 7, 2017 at 7:31 am

    How do you clean the water colour pans after your blending colours with them?! ๐Ÿ™‚

  70. Fern Laderoute March 23, 2017 at 3:48 am

    Great information, I still have to my hand at water coloring

  71. Yvette Williams April 14, 2017 at 11:04 am

    What brand and size brush r u doing? Looks like a Silver Black Brush? Very pretty flowers.

  72. MOODY April 26, 2017 at 5:46 pm

    These paints are beautiful, so much better then Artist Loft

  73. Emmma Rose April 30, 2017 at 5:25 am

    please help me. I got the classic set. It looked fine. when I opened the paints, they had a weird texture. I took one out of the pan, and the texture went all the way around. The yellow had brownish greenish yellow paint on the bottom of the pan. The blue (08) was shiney, and worked nicely. The others had fibers in them, like ….. fuzz?? I was so upset. My dollar General set was better than this, and $20 cheaper, with twice the colors. The paints didn't dry and seem… spongey.. idk. THEY LOOK AWEFUL. I'm so sad. What do I do? I got mine through amazon.

  74. Lani May 26, 2017 at 7:00 pm

    I thought your painting of the flours was gorgeous…you are either very very good or the paint was pretty darn nice too ๐Ÿ™‚ I would buy the paints just because your painting was so vibrant….

  75. felicia erina June 13, 2017 at 3:37 pm

    better than w&n ?

  76. dazy awhina July 23, 2017 at 12:53 pm

    Ohhhhh so it's the paper quality…I was watching the video thinking that you painted with a really dry brush…

  77. Noreen Latimer August 12, 2017 at 11:26 pm

    Beautiful.

  78. 1ndygirl August 15, 2017 at 8:48 pm

    Hi Kristina, I've just discovered you on YT (you were born to do this!); so I'm commenting on an old video, but I wanted to comment anyway. You said that you wished the Prima colors were a little more transparent. And for the way you like to paint with watercolors I see your point. But there are other brands out there more appropriate for your style. I love how relatively opaque Prima is, and what convinced me was your lettered quote at the very end. The colors are really vibrant, and the relative opacity is probably perfect for how most people use coloring books. I see the Prima pans almost as a more flexible form of marker.

    Long ago someone asked me if I preferred my pancakes thin and crepe-y or thick and doughy. I said i liked them both because i saw them as two different foods. I use that analogy for how I view different media. Since I'm only getting started on your dozens of videos, I don't know if you have differentiated in another video how you use Prima pans on your cards to create a style different from your cards where you do blends and ombres. I don't see such a video in the list, but if you have such a video, I'd love to see it.

    btw, I work at Michaels and we sell both the Canson watercolor paper and the Arches.

  79. Kings Jewels August 26, 2017 at 2:54 pm

    Great ideas!!

  80. Angie Thesing Realtor September 24, 2017 at 7:12 pm

    I LOVE my watercolors! I bought these when I first started and it is my favorite art supplies. Great investment!

  81. unicorn October 12, 2017 at 11:25 pm

    They have refills for these ๐Ÿ™‚

  82. Shifak Aisyah October 27, 2017 at 1:26 pm

    good review! I think I also want to try this prima watercolor.

  83. Run-chan November 1, 2017 at 12:20 pm

    Prisma is student grade or artist grade? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  84. Sandra Scott November 28, 2017 at 2:16 am

    I really appreciate your honesty

  85. Ann Margaret Javier November 30, 2017 at 9:44 am

    I use bluetac to keep my pans sliding around!!! Love these!!!

  86. RE ABERILLA December 7, 2017 at 8:40 pm

    I laminated mine … I like it nicely laminated!

  87. Susie Lessard December 29, 2017 at 3:39 am

    I'm a little late to the party, but, I really appreciated your review, Kristina. First, I am more interested in the watercolors themselves. I am not interested in the coloring book. Your review gave me a good look at the colors and I'm glad because I am going to change my order and add the classic pan. I found them on Amazon at a better price point. I liked how little water it took to wet the color. It was excellent review and I am going forward with my order.

  88. The Psychic Examiners March 3, 2018 at 10:23 pm

    I agree with everything you said. Great review!

  89. Irene Isbell March 13, 2018 at 2:53 pm

    I have these water color set and I love it.

  90. Kim Henderson April 18, 2018 at 5:36 pm

    Thank you for the video. Your work is gorgeous! Do you know if there is a color reference guide that gives comparable colors for the confections line to Winsor & Newton? There are a few video tutorials using Prima. I own a 48 half pan set of Winsor & Newton Artist watercolor so I don't need more colors but since I am a beginner it would be nice to know which colors will have similar effects. I would have loved to of known the colors you used as you painted the roses in this video to understand better how the layer works.

  91. Craftin Kate April 23, 2018 at 5:05 pm

    I saw a video where someone used watercolor grounds (I bought the Daniel Smith brand) and clear gesso to use on watercoloring books that have thin paper for watercoloring on.

  92. Ifra sketches April 28, 2018 at 5:50 pm

    Taking into account that prima tropicals watercolour is twice the price of Windsor and newton cotman (where I live) which one would you choose?
    Also i am not very experienced with watercolour.

  93. AlAA Abdlkarem May 21, 2018 at 10:25 pm

    I want these sooooo badly but I canโ€™t find them at all in my local art store

  94. CHICHISWEETS July 27, 2018 at 4:56 pm

    Great honest review! They should have had you test the book before they chose that watercolor paper!

  95. sandy sale August 29, 2018 at 4:06 pm

    Kristina, you may know this by now because Iโ€™m a little late to the party! I just ordered the Prima confections and surprise the tin is labeled and the little pans are numbered!!! Of course I measured and made my swatches (ready for paint) and included in the tin is a swatch, numbered and name of color ready for paint! I love your videos!

  96. Jewell Dean Herbrandson-Stokes October 14, 2018 at 11:12 pm

    It is beautiful

  97. Naomi le Roux March 16, 2019 at 9:59 pm

    Loved it thnxs for sharing. ๐Ÿ’•๐ŸŒธ

  98. Debby Wilson May 15, 2019 at 1:40 am

    Love this book. I just ordered it. Do you know of any coloring books that are greeting card size for Copics or watercolor?

  99. Debby Wilson May 15, 2019 at 1:52 am

    Just not enough good coloring books out there

  100. Debby Wilson May 15, 2019 at 1:53 am

    Iโ€™m like the bigger prints too. Much easier for watercolor and Copics.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *