Planes, Trains And Automobiles — Movie Review #JPMN


This John Hughes comedy-classic was released
the day before Thanksgiving in 1987, and was a huge hit, earning over $50 million at the
box office. Iconic funny men Steve Martin and John Candy star as a mismatched duo forced
to work together to survive the ultimate road trip from hell, as they attempt to make it
home to Chicago for Thanksgiving. With Murphy’s Law in full effect, Martin does an excellent
job portraying the arrogant, and impatient business man perpetually pushed to the end
of his rope, both by the ridiculously horrible circumstances he continually finds himself
in, and by Candy’s irritating antics. What makes this odd-couple pairing work however
is Candy’s marvelous performance as the good natured and lovable shower-curtain ring traveling
salesmen, who is so oblivious to his obnoxious behavior, it’s hard to fault the endearing
guy, defending himself by saying, “I’m the real article, what you see is what you get.”
Although the supporting cast includes familiar names and faces like Kevin Bacon, Dylan Baker,
Matthew Lawrence, and Ben Stein – most are reduced to quick punchlines, and remain largely
inconsequential. Stretching the bounds of believability, the 92-minute American adventure
bounces from one awful traveling disaster to the next… from grounded airplanes, to
broken-down trains, to having their rental car catches on fire; which results in perhaps
the movie’s funniest laugh-out-loud scene when Candy attempts to calmly dismiss officer
Michael McKean’s safety and legal concerns over their destroyed vehicle. Earning its R-rated
in a single, hilarious, F-bomb laced scene, this picture is otherwise a family friendly
story with noble themes of friendship, family, and not judging others by a first impression.
With some silly, and perhaps hammy dialogue, the original screenplay by Hughes is otherwise
very tightly constructed, despite ending with an abrupt emotional shift, and a rushed ending.
Technically and visually speaking, there’s nothing noteworthy with this picture, which
has held up extremely well over the years… except for its cheesy and overly synthesized
score from Ira Newborn, which is far too goofy to ever feel appropriate. The briskly paced
experience is a holiday staple, and the greatest reminder of how talented the late John Candy
really was… this is a delightful picture I love watching around turkey day. “Planes,
Trains And Automobiles”, “Brilliantly funny characters. Amusing situations.” Now let’s
see what you had to say about this picture in the Google+ comments. And our ratings are… a double EIGHT. Everyone
praised Martin and Candy’s performances, scoring the film a GREAT. Despite some story flaws,
I too loved the characters in this picture, and laugh every time I watch. It’s a GREAT
movie.

15 Comments

  1. MovieNight December 4, 2013 at 3:23 am

    A few days later, but I trust you'll enjoy it just the same.

    Thanks for watching!

  2. nickmesafilms December 4, 2013 at 3:38 am

    Love this movie!

  3. ShipperWar December 4, 2013 at 3:52 am

    This is like the only good Thanksgiving themed movie. It's a shame.

  4. Hunter Crowton December 4, 2013 at 6:13 am

    You should celebrate the opening of the Hobbit D.O.S. by reviewing that and the LOTR trilogy in a Tolkien special.

  5. MusicIsMyLife4Eva89 December 4, 2013 at 6:59 am

    Yes!! I love this movie!  John Candy and Steve Martin are 2 of my favourite actors!

  6. william johnson December 4, 2013 at 9:05 am

    Thanks .Wj

  7. BeastOfTraal December 4, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    This was the first R rated movie I saw

  8. Scott Vogler December 5, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    There's just something about this movie that has staying power. It's a classic and if it isn't, it will be. 

  9. mordecaimaster19 December 8, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    I saw that movie at futures but you know its raded. ITS RESTRICTED!!!! I HATE RESTRICTED MOVIES!!!

  10. DBGcamo December 11, 2013 at 1:05 am

    "Google plus comments" that made me laugh

  11. grahamlive December 14, 2013 at 11:50 pm

    I think I must've watched this movie over 100 times over the years. I know every word and action in it by heart, and yet I still find it hilarious.

  12. retrobro13 October 16, 2014 at 11:09 pm

    awsome movie dead funny XD 

  13. hawaiidispenser March 17, 2016 at 5:38 am

    I wouldn't call the emotional shift at the end "abrupt" — the emotion had been simmering through the entire picture in various scenes and felt natural. Additionally, there's often a bittersweet feeling when any epic journey/vacation/job/school year comes to an end and is kinda expected.

  14. Eric Ryder August 19, 2016 at 6:22 am

    Hello Jonny, Eric Ryder here! Another excellent review on the movie "Planes Trains and Automobiles". To me this was truly one of the great classic films from a bygone era where comedy was played by heart and not for cheap stupidity like in a lot of movies nowadays. Steve Martin and John Candy have such wonderful chemistry together and it truly is one of the great classic films that puts you in the holiday season mood. The script and the direction of John Hughes was beyond special as he was stepping out of the Brat Pack films he did in the early to mid 1980's to make more family oriented films with filled with comedy and warmth. My favorite scene was when they were sleeping in the same bed together in a hotel in Wichita, Kansas and Neal and Del were on top of each other and then shrug it off to talk about the Bears game (anything Hughes will have something Chicago in it right?) There are warm moments in this film too which will give you that warm feeling and we both get to understand where both Neal and Del are coming from. Neal wants to come home for Thanksgiving and Del just wants to make friends. It's a brilliant comedy. Please stop by my channel someday and check out my review on "Planes, Trains and Automobiles". Feel free to leave a comment. Okay? Nice job.

  15. Sofia Borges June 25, 2017 at 3:26 am

    Finallуууу I'vе fооound full Plааnеs, ТТТrаins аnd AАutomооbilеs mоvie hеrе => https://twitter.com/aab010a54bb3be92e/status/822795056465645568

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *