Review: 2019 Ford Ranger Raptor


Hey guys, we’re back. I’m Paulo Rafael Subido, editor in chief
of Top Gear Philippines. Now, you know, it’s been a while since I’ve
been excited about a new release, and the car that we have with us today—or the truck, rather—is actually something really quite special. So I want to introduce you guys to the much-awaited and much-anticipated Ford Ranger Raptor. Here it is in the metal. I’m looking forward
to driving it. Let’s hop into the driver’s seat and check it out. So come on, let’s go. So much hype surrounds the Ford Ranger Raptor. I was actually invited by Ford Group Philippines
to attend a preview in Thailand. That was early 2018. When the Ranger Raptor was finally unveiled
and the specs were revealed, I knew that this was going to be a hot seller in the Philippines
because the trend now is 4×4 modification. Just drive on EDSA and how
many modified pickup trucks will you see? These are the pickups with taller ride height,
you know, bigger tires, of course they have their snorkels and all of that. Now I don’t claim to be a 4×4 expert, we
have our off-road editors for that, but what I do know is that with the Ford Ranger Raptor,
you can drive off the showroom floor with a pickup that is already so capable, so hardcore, and so badass. Now let me tell you the reasons why. We’re big fans of the Ford Ranger but the
Ranger Raptor is all about performance. This car, it seems, was built to thrive in off-road competitions like the Baja 1000 and it has a very, very impressive spec list. It has a wider track. It’s wider than the regular Ranger. The
frame has been toughened up and reinforced, and I think the gem, really, of the Ranger Raptor is the Fox suspension which soaks up the bumps and keeps the chassis in full control no matter how fast you drive
over the rough stuff. I can’t think of any other pickup on the
market that you can buy right now, in the Philippines, that you can launch off a dune
and land and still have full composure. You’d be crashing about in a normal
pickup, but because of the Fox suspension, it’s sublime in here. Under the hood is a 2.0-liter bi-turbo engine. That is the trend nowadays. We are going for lower-displacement engines but it has two turbochargers in there and I must say, you won’t be wanting for power when you’re
behind the wheel of this thing. Mated to the engine is a 10-speed automatic
transmission. Shifts are super smooth, they’re also super
fast and they can be done manually through the paddle shifters behind the steering wheel. And what I think is really cool is that the
drive mode selector is on the steering wheel itself. So you can choose the different terrain modes:
We have normal mode, sport mode, we have grass, gravel, and snow—you have to select 4-high
to use that. We have mud and sand. So the computer will do all the thinking for
you when you’re going over surfaces like that. And I think the most exciting one is ‘Baja
mode.’ If you’re familiar with the Baja 1000, these
race trucks are launched off dunes and they just soak up all of the bumps, and you’ll
see the suspension moving and the reason for all of that travel is to make sure that the
wheels are in contact with the ground as much as possible so that none of the forward momentum
is wasted by a loss of traction. Now it really is quite special in here. I love how this red band comes stock on
the steering wheel. This is something that you normally see in rally cars. And it’s because it’s kind of expected
that when you’re really playing with a Raptor where it’s supposed to be played with, you’ll
be sawing around with the steering wheel a lot. Alright, so you have the leather-wrapped steering
wheel and you have these very special Raptor seats. They have excellent lumbar support
and they really hold you in there—of course, they should because of the kind of driving
you’ll do with this thing. I really hope that if you do buy a Ranger
Raptor, you use it for what it’s meant for which is really bashing around in some off-road trails. Now, I think what’s going to happen is a number of owners who buy a Ranger Raptor probably
won’t even take this thing off-road. But you know, it’s nice to know that your
truck can pretty much do anything and the satisfaction of knowing that is, actually,
it’s worth it man! So yeah, I’ve heard comments from people
say that you will have the coolest truck in the parking lot. And man, I’m not even going to argue because,
yes, until Ranger Raptor rivals arrive in the Philippines, I think this
pickup is the performance king right now. So, I’m going to enjoy this truck some more. I’m going to enjoy playing with the different
drive modes and the different terrain modes. What a fantastic drive this is, and I am envious
of anyone who owns a Ranger Raptor right now. So, this has been Paulo Rafael T. Subido, Editor in Chief of Top Gear Philippines. Stay driven, guys.

67 Comments

  1. Jason Biscocho April 5, 2019 at 4:29 am

    Boredom strikes. 😂

  2. FBI April 5, 2019 at 10:17 pm

    I prefer the Ford F-150 raptor.😂😂 just sayin…

  3. Piedras Platas April 6, 2019 at 3:08 am

    Top Gear Raptor4x4 review sa loob lng ng subdivision.. 👎👎 Not even close sa AutodealPh reviews.

  4. Rey Balating April 6, 2019 at 6:30 am

    mas okay siguro mag tagalog na lang kayo (or taglish) sa reviews nyo. nakaka intindi naman majority ng followers nyo ng tagalog. please make top gear phil more localized!

  5. Daniel Deliso April 6, 2019 at 9:32 am

    Bakit parang iba ang ford Raptor sa Philippines walang A/c sa likod at iba din headlights design

  6. Daniel Deliso April 6, 2019 at 9:37 am

    Iba kasi yong nakita kong review sa you tube sa Ford Raptor 2019 ,, bakit po ganon iba ba sa Philippines kompara sa ibang bansa?

  7. Alpha Maverick April 6, 2019 at 10:50 am

    Strada absolute can’t beat this simple design monster

  8. Anesthætic April 6, 2019 at 11:15 am

    not a kind of top gear I expected. what it needs to be is to review a vehicle on its own special habitat (e.g. Track, off-road course, city streets, etc)

  9. TheGame Changer April 6, 2019 at 12:06 pm

    Floor it dude!!!! where's the review…come on!!!!!

  10. abdulaziz alaryani April 6, 2019 at 9:13 pm

    how much is it in the Philippines?

  11. ian albaran April 7, 2019 at 2:48 am

    LOWSY REVIEW! MURAG WALAY KAON. WALAY ENERGY. NOT EVEN CLOSE TO AUTODEAL'S. PLEASE HIRE A PROPER HOST FOR YOUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL.

  12. Kobe Nosaz April 7, 2019 at 9:19 am

    I fell asleep listening to this dude! Reallyyy! 😂 😁 🤣

  13. Adzelbur April 7, 2019 at 1:19 pm

    caco ftw.

  14. se evidente April 7, 2019 at 5:36 pm

    These presenters present feel so forced.

  15. The Maldos April 8, 2019 at 2:04 am

    Pisses me off this isn’t coming to the US

  16. Cucumber ferris April 8, 2019 at 3:26 pm

    You're rather not excited bruh, whhhhhyyyyyy 😞

  17. WonderBoy VP April 8, 2019 at 4:06 pm

    After seeing the number of dislikes I then read the comments. Then, I stopped watching the video at 0:25.

  18. Napoleon Jr. Gonzales April 9, 2019 at 3:05 am

    Paulo Subido??? Oops, stopped watching at 0:11.

  19. SuperLubot April 10, 2019 at 10:20 am

    Niky Tamayo should have been assigned for this video. Paolo puts us to sleep with his voice.

  20. Bryan Agapito April 10, 2019 at 6:18 pm

    This dude sounds so unenthusiastic. Is he asking to get fired?

  21. Paulo Angelo Vitacion April 10, 2019 at 7:26 pm

    Should have been Dinzo or Nicky who should be doing these vids.

  22. Tak Kim April 10, 2019 at 7:29 pm

    A truck that can only carry up to 750kg. While the smaller pickups can carry a Ton or more and are as capable or much capable off road. Puro looks. Pangit ng after sales service nila, sirain pa ang units and ang mahal pa ng maintenance. 👎

  23. Sir Ton M.D. April 12, 2019 at 3:19 pm

    Tgp, wala na bang talagang iba?

  24. puhgeh April 14, 2019 at 6:20 am

    meh

  25. Kh2 ESP April 15, 2019 at 9:40 pm

    Ford released both F raptor and this crap in China.

  26. FH benitez April 16, 2019 at 2:50 am

    I'm excited for this review pero Walang energy!!! Thank you next!!!

  27. Mark Simondo April 18, 2019 at 1:35 am

    Disappointing review. Shut down channel pls

  28. Abukenyo April 18, 2019 at 1:52 pm

    Napakaangas! Dream car ko to!

  29. Profoundly Shallow April 18, 2019 at 2:32 pm

    The truck is really good. However, the presenter from TGP is another story. My suggestion, watch reviews from AD/Caco!

  30. emmanuel ellaine April 19, 2019 at 3:20 am

    wow

  31. italianrelic April 19, 2019 at 12:30 pm

    Lmao ranger raptor lmao

  32. poleng April 21, 2019 at 10:46 pm

    Snoozefest

  33. Joegie San Miguel April 22, 2019 at 11:47 pm

    The Glades at Timberland Heights San Mateo

  34. stewart ledesma April 25, 2019 at 4:07 am

    usually mga kanta ni engelbert ginagamit ko para makatulog anak ko. pero mas effective to na pampatulog.

  35. myelle April 25, 2019 at 12:10 pm

    Sana si Barney na lang sinakyan at nireview mo…

  36. Rocky Tuazon April 25, 2019 at 1:31 pm

    You should have tried it at the offroad right beside you instead of that smooth cemented road! Peace 😅😅😅

  37. Aldwin Aceron April 26, 2019 at 3:35 pm

    Erp tulog mo na yan

  38. derp derp April 28, 2019 at 4:04 am

    No one beats an F150 RAPTOR…

  39. derp derp April 28, 2019 at 4:04 am

    Especially a ranger raptor

  40. Jeremiah Jose Fetizanan April 29, 2019 at 12:04 pm

    At the end of the day the Ford Ranger Raptor is a beast of its kind💪💪

  41. OK HD! April 29, 2019 at 1:07 pm

    GUSTO MO PALITAN KITA?

  42. Ron Diaz April 30, 2019 at 1:24 pm

    Snooze fest review ano ba naman yan Paolo.

  43. maynard amigo May 1, 2019 at 12:19 am

    Astig to baha mode pang habagat

  44. ian albaran May 1, 2019 at 1:37 pm

    stay driven guy? ikaw driven ka pa ba?

  45. Aulbrae Alexander Zamora May 3, 2019 at 11:31 am

    Very dry narration

  46. Dark Onix May 3, 2019 at 2:26 pm

    0:14 Dude! hes excited. Ano nalang kaya if di sya excited?

  47. Philip Roy Rapsing May 3, 2019 at 5:24 pm

    Hay naku na EIC to . . . panoorin mo muna si Jeremy Clarkso, at mg enroll ksa theater bago ka mg review uli.

  48. Leonard Neil Ignacio May 4, 2019 at 9:27 am

    I was so excited to check out the Ford Raptor but when I watched the first 15 seconds of this video, I went back to my bed and sleep.

  49. Daryl Pacheco May 4, 2019 at 11:47 am

    This guy needs kopiko 78

  50. Patcharapun Visetbhakdi May 6, 2019 at 9:37 am

    Most dry Top Gear review, doesn't feel like Top Gear

  51. Mike Domingo May 6, 2019 at 4:26 pm

    kamote top gear.. bkit hndi sa off road nag test.

  52. Jhames Lipa May 7, 2019 at 1:44 pm

    kumusta po ba ang Ford pickup trucks kung ikukompara sa iba? worth it po ba?
    salamat sa sasagot 🙂

  53. Sebastian TAGABI May 9, 2019 at 1:29 am

    Jeremy Clarkson?😂😂😂

  54. Sonam Sherpa May 10, 2019 at 5:57 am

    The guy is fkn depressing as fk

  55. jad dcreyes May 11, 2019 at 4:33 am

    You just listen in very smooth voice..

  56. richard cero May 14, 2019 at 6:28 am

    wait lang mga 100k odo!! ahaha iiyak ka!!

  57. Peter B. May 14, 2019 at 1:27 pm

    TGP is going down the drain. Get real guys that review vehicles, not dead ass wannabe actors that can memorize the brochure.

  58. Gelandewagen_65 May 20, 2019 at 8:51 am

    People buy 4×4 vehicles which has lots of off-road features, modified/upgraded it to be more off-road capable and it will look badass, then they will just roam around the city and do long drives on concreted pavements with asphalt layering…

  59. mujacs thongs June 2, 2019 at 3:23 am

    its made in thailand

  60. Vox June 13, 2019 at 2:51 pm

    ano nangyari? nakatulog ako eh

  61. Canada! Place 2 be!! June 21, 2019 at 11:07 pm

    Ranger. Raptor. Mustang Raptor. F-150 Raptor. Wtf. Make up your mind. Ya ya. Bad ass. Have u seen the Dakota. Rebel. Ass hole. Philippines?????

  62. Canada! Place 2 be!! June 21, 2019 at 11:08 pm

    U r not in the Philippines. OK?

  63. Somkid Weno June 23, 2019 at 3:47 am

    ยังได้มากแต่ไม่มีเงินซื้อ

  64. Carlo Yap July 10, 2019 at 7:50 am

    Ano To? Pang Subdivision Lang Tong Ranger Raptor? Pang Humps Lang😂

  65. Leo Adalla July 13, 2019 at 1:51 pm

    VISOR > TGP

  66. -Poop- Ing July 23, 2019 at 8:50 pm

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzZZZZzzzzZZZZZzzzzzZZZZZzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZZ

  67. Kar98K August 15, 2019 at 1:19 am

    Diesel pala yan?! Kala ko 2.0 gas. Hahaha parang fx namin dati 2c turbo diesel. Eh di matipid fc niyan

  68. DEL SAM ALL STAR All Star September 17, 2019 at 8:29 am

    Dream car ko to pero bat sa group ng mga raptor sa fb dame nilang reklamo sa raptor nila hindi makahatak kabago bago palang..kaya parang gusto ko nalang sa tyota hilux

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *